One more VGI story

by Natalie
Farm Stand Intern

Greetings from one smiling face to another,

This is the story of a VGI internship.

15525449961_5cee299b3eMy name is Natalie. I think that every person that spends some of their time with this organization, be it volunteer, work, or intern, has a story. I’m here to share a little bit of mine in hopes of hearing about yours.

I started my internship with VGI in early September after I inquired about helping them out. My general inquiry might have said grant writing?? But no duty specified, I was just interested. And then they gave me a title… a glorious title! I was to be the Farm Stand Intern. Luckily my farming knowledge is extensive. By extensive I mean kind of nonexistent…. But I believe in the power of positive thinking. And fake it till you make it. Right..?

As it turns out, my background of having grown up in a family that believes gardening is exactly what you do in the summertime became useful. All the times I was coaxed into doing some weeding (for a Popsicle of course….) proved fruitful. Literally!

My duties as Farm Stand Intern were largely about the Youth Farm Stand, which was a blast to help out with. I have high hopes for the future of the program. But I also got to help and lead volunteer work days in the garden. A pre-class work day in the garden getting to know a new face and life is honestly one of the most rejuvenating and hope filled activities one could do.

15400899051_0a5675cc64_o

A snapshot of Thursday’s at the farm!

I already miss arriving to class nearly late, out of breath, and smelling like the ripened, wholesome compost I had befriended. But I don’t believe my VGI story is over quite yet… so stay tuned.

But for now, if there’s anything you’d like to know more about… in regards to this post, VGI, or this blog, just leave us a comment!

And if you want to keep up on events at the farm like the Concordia Gardens page on Facebook!

This entry was posted in Volunteer Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

