Volunteer Farming

by Mason
VGI Volunteer

My name is Mason, and I want to be a part of Milwaukee’s Food Movement.10403623_10203527093489302_2853151824646255692_n

More specifically, I want to be a farmer. This past summer I was deeply inspired while volunteering on farms in Portugal and France. It was the closest I’ve ever been to my food, and every day I discovered new talents and gained more confidence. I feel like in the 4 months of volunteering and farming I learned more than in a lifetime: things like distilling essential oils, cooking jam, herding goats! Coming back to Milwaukee in October was pretty difficult because, well, it’s really cold here! Fortunately there’s tons of stuff going on with food and urban farming. As a new volunteer at Victory Garden Initiative I jumped on the opportunity to blog. I hope you enjoy some of my stories about food, farming and travel.

This entry was posted in Volunteer Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

